News & Announcements


Clifford Saper elected to the IOM

October 13, 2009

Clifford B. Saper, MD, PhD, James Jackson Putnam Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience, Head of the Department of Neurology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and Associate Director of the Harvard Medical School Division of Sleep Medicine, was among 65 new members elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM), announced on October 12, 2009 in conjunction with the IOM's 39th annual meeting.

Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.  

"It is a great pleasure to welcome these distinguished and accomplished individuals to the Institute of Medicine," said IOM President Harvey V. Fineberg.  "Each of these new members stands out as a professional whose research, knowledge, and skills have significantly advanced health and medicine and who has served as a model for others.  The Institute of Medicine is greatly enriched by the addition of our newly elected colleagues."

Related links
Read the entire IOM press release.
Visit the IOM website.

Site Map | Contact Us | © 2017 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College